The Beginners Guide to The Lake District – Episode 1

Published: Thursday 22nd Aug 2019

Written by: Alex Barton

A land made up of dramatic mountain peaks, glistening lakes, breath-taking valleys, serene villages and thick lush forests...

You’ve probably heard about the Lake District by now. Located in Cumbria in the very north west of England along the Scottish border lies the UK’s most recent UNESCO World Heritage Site.

But if you’ve never been here before then deciding where to stay and what to do on your first visit can be a little intimidating with so much to explore, see and experience. We’ve put together this episodic series of blogs to help you decide on which part of the Lake District you’d enjoy the most and why we should be your 2019 UK holiday destination

Derwentwater Lake District

The Areas

The Lake District is broken down into 5 distinctive areas that people visit, each with their own landscape characteristics, attractions and unique charms that make them all so special. These are:

  • The South Lakes – Very popular with visitors and home to England’s largest lake, Windermere. One of the more easily accessible parts of the Lake District via the M6 and A591 roads. Rolling green hills, bustling towns and great walking.

Windermere From Wansfell

  • The North Lakes – Large mountains and stunning views, Keswick is the heart of the north lakes and is also very easily reached via the M6 and A66 road networks. Two fells, Skiddaw and Blencathra, dominate the landscapes here.


  • The Central Lakes – Again, very popular with visitors all year round. You’ll find some classic honey-pot towns here including Ambleside and Grasmere alongside one of the country’s largest mountains, Helvellyn. The dramatic Thirlmere valley was voted Britain's best driving road.


  • The Western Lakes – Home to some of England’s tallest mountains including the largest, Scafell Pike. There are very few mountains under 1,000 feet in this area. Rugged landscapes, isolated valleys and nobody around for miles. Nature at its best.


  • The Eden Valley – Picture paradise and you’ll be imagining the Eden Valley. Home to the beautiful Ullswater Lake, this stunning area is one continuous sweeping green vista. The picture says it all. Simply stunning scenery.


  • The Peninsulas – Whilst not technically part of the national park just yet (there are plans in motion to expand the borders of the Lake District) this pretty area sees a lot less traffic than the main centers further north. Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands, Ulverston and Arnside are all stunning holiday destinations along the south of Cumbria.


We’ll cover each of these areas in future episodes with greater depth but for right now they give you a beginner’s overview of what makes up the Lake District.

One of the best ways to experience the Lake District is to book your own cottage. You can check out all of our cottages on our website!

Alex Barton



Return to blog article index